Arkansas Delegation Supports Bill To Reopen Government

Oct 17, 2013

Members of Arkansas's congressional delegation supported legislation to reopen the federal government and avoid a threatened national default. 

U.S. Capitol

The House voted 285-144 in support of the bill Wednesday night. Republican U.S. Reps. Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin and Steve Womack voted for the measure. 

After the House vote, Rep. Tom Cotton, R-Ark., said he reluctantly supported it. It passed the U.S. Senate 81-18 on Wednesday night with the support of Democratic U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor and Republican U.S. Sen. John Boozman, according to the Senate's website.

The shutdown began Oct. 1.