10 Arkansas Universities Share Research Grant On Science

Aug 3, 2015

Ten Arkansas univerities are sharing a five-year, $20 million grant from the National Science Foundation to support research.

The funding comes under the foundation's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, which sets up partnerships among government, higher education and industry. The grant was made through the science and technology division of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. The top investigators are Gail McClure of the AEDC and Min Zou of the University of Arkansas.

The schools involved are the University of Arkansas; the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences; the University of Arkansas campuses at Little Rock, Monticello and Pine Bluff; the University of Central Arkansas; Ouachita Baptist; Southern Arkansas; Philander Smith; and Arkansas State.

UAMS' research director says one project will make it easier to study neurons in the laboratory.