Public Radio from UA Little Rock
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Suffrage In Sixty Seconds: Formation Of The Political Equality League

After a decade of near silence on the issue, in January 1910, Little Rock women, Lynn Hemingway, Julia Clarke, Nell Dooley, and Adolphine Fletcher announced in the Arkansas Gazette that a woman’s suffrage meeting was to be held at the YMCA.

They said, “Present inequality and untrue equality will be discussed. Tableaus will be given showing the present state of women, the uses of men, “Women as Lobbyists and Voters,” and “Relations of women and men under suffrage.”

A year later, in 1911, Adolphine’s sister, Mary Fletcher became the first president of the Political Equality League. This organization would lead Arkansas to ratify the Nineteenth Amendment eight years later.