Public Radio from UA Little Rock
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Local & Regional News

Victories, Runoffs In Arkansas Down-Ballot Races Following Election Night

Election voting
Sarah Whites-Koditschek

President Donald Trump along with five Republican members of Arkansas’ congressional delegation cruised to victory in the state Tuesday night. Some candidates further down the ballot saw victories by large margins, while some races remain undecided.

Little Rock City Board of Directors

Two incumbents and one newcomer were victorious Tuesday night in the race for three at-large seats on the Little Rock City Board of Directors. Antwan Phillips led the group of seven candidates for the Position 9 seat on the board with 39% of the vote. Challengers Leron McAdoo and David Alan Bubbus were farther behind with roughly 21% of the vote each. Tom Horton garnered just over 10% of the vote, with candidates Dale Pekar, Glen Schwarz and Rohn Muse with percentages in the single digits.

Incumbent Position 10 city director Joan Adcock also garnered the most votes against challengers Greg Henderson and Sheridan Richards. Adcock received just over 35,000 votes, compared to roughly 21,000 for Henderson and just over 19,500 for Richards. Incumbent Position 8 city director Dean Kumpuris edged out challengers Phillip Bryant and Russ Racop with over 60% of the vote.

Little Rock School Board

Seven of the nine seats up for grabs on the Little Rock School Board appear to be filled, with four candidates heading to a runoff election on Dec. 1. Unofficial returns show Zone 3 candidates Tommy Branch Jr. and Evelyn Hemphill Callaway to be headed for a runoff, as well as Zone 6 candidates FranSha’ Anderson and Vicki Hatter. Candidates Ali Noland, Norma Jean Johnson, Greg Adams and Jeff Wood all seemed to have clenched a victory in their respective races. Candidates Michael Mason, Sandrekkia Morning and Leigh Ann Wilson all ran unopposed.

North Little Rock Mayor

A former state lawmaker led the field of four candidates, but will nonetheless face a former Mayor of North Little Rock in a runoff election. Former Democratic state Sen. Tracy Steele led the pack with just under 11,000 votes, or 45% as of late Tuesday night. Former mayor Terry Hartwick trailed in second place with 32% of the vote, with city council member Debi Ross in third at roughly 18%. Middle school teacher Alice Kunce secured just under 1,000 votes in the nonpartisan race.

Arkansas Legislature

Only seven Democrats will serve in Arkansas’ 35-member Senate after losing two seats to Republican challengers. District 26 incumbent Sen. Eddie Cheatham lost to Republican Ben Gilmore, and Charles Edward Beckham III, who drew criticism for wearing a Ku Klux Klan outfit while in high school, beat out incumbent Sen. Bruce Maloch.

Former Democratic state Rep. Clarke Tucker has won his race to represent state Senate District 32 garnering 65% of the vote compared to 35% for Republican challenger Bob Thomas. Tucker succeeds fellow Democrat Will Bond, who did not run for reelection. Incumbent Republican state Sen. Jane English bested Democratic challenger Alisa Blaize Dixon by roughly 3,000 votes to represent parts of North Little Rock, Sherwood and Maumelle.

The race in nearby House District 38 saw incumbent Republican Rep. Carlton Wing receive just over 100 more votes than Democratic challenger Matthew Stallings. Incumbent Republican Rep. Jim Sorvillo also held a similarly slim lead against Democrat Ashley Hudson for west Little Rock’s House District 32.

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Joy Springer won her challenge against independent Roderick Talley for the House District 34 seat representing Little Rock. Unofficial results show Republican Keith Brooks edging out Democrat Mazhil Rajendran for the House District 31 race representing parts of Saline and Pulaski counties with 64% of the vote.

Judicial Races

Four District 6 circuit Judge positions were up for grabs on Election Day. Casey Tucker had the slimmest margin of victory garnering 52% of the vote against challenger Hugh Finkelstein’s 48%. In the Division 10 race, Shanice Johnson saw 55% of the vote compared to 46% for challenger Lott Rolfe. Candidates Shawn Johnson and Amy Dunn Johnson also won their races by margins of over 20 points.

Related Content